Mizenko’s Post Season Mock

First I think the eagles will address their OL issues during FA.  I feel they will be more active in FA this year due to the youth of their team.  Our OL is young (avg age of OL that have played this year is 23.3 yrs old) so why would they attempt to get younger.  In my opinion, this is a weak draft class for OL, while next years class will be very strong. I think the Eagles will sign two or three of these FA: Carl Nicks (NO), Logan Mankins (NE), Davin Joseph (TB), Ryan Kalil (CAR), Jermon Bushrod (NO).

Carl Nicks Dominates

Round 1: Brandon Harris CB Miami– I like the way Lindley has been playing so he adds hope. He could start along side Asante next year, and Harris will be our third.  I also like the way Brandon Hughes played against the Cowboys on Sunday, giving me hope that he could be our 5th CB.  Our 4th CB will come later in the draft

Round 2:  Muhammad Wilkerson DT Temple– This had been my “guy” in almost every Eagles mock that I have done.  He is a beast (6-4 310) and his agility is impressive for his size, as is his hustle to close on ballcarriers in the backfield or track them down from behind (his 70 tackles are a high number for a defensive lineman). He also has the versatility to play  DE when needed.  I don’t like Bunk, and I think the reason that Dixon is so “dominate” for us is because he is the only NFL size DT we have.  Dixon is 6-3 330 and the others all hover around 6-2 300.  We need better push to help our edge rushers.

Round 3: Chimdi Chekwa CB Ohio St– I love this kid, he is a physical CB that played lots of man in college.  He has great speed (4.45) and is as mentally tough as they come.  He can easily become our 4th CB.

Round 4: Kelvin Sheppard ILB/WILL– Although I love our young LB, I dont think Akeem Jordan or Omar Gaither should/will be back.  Sheppard can play multiple LB postions (started at WILL in ’07 before moving to ILB for the rest of his career.  He is a leader, in every sense of the word and will add depth of a improving group of young LB’s.

Round 4: Tim Barnes C Missouri– Yes, I said that we will address through FA but I don’t think we will pay Ryan Kalil the money he is going to want and he is the best C in the game.  Thats why we will draft Barnes here.  Barnes, while physically gifted, is also a leader on the field and in the locker room. He won the 2009 Team Underclassmen Leadership Award.  Every team needs a player like Barnes.

Round 5: Tejay Johnson S TCU– Not sure if Nate Allen will be ok for this upcoming year.  Johnson can play both FS and SS and will add insurance and depth to go along with Kurt Coleman (who will start next year regardless of Allen)

Round 5: Tyrod Taylor QB Va Tech– I love the kid, he idolized Vick and wants to play/learn from him in the NFL.

Round 6: Derrick Locke RB/WR/KR/PR Kentucky– He’s worth the pick here.  He can make our team based simply on his return skills.

Round 7: Brandon Blair DE Oregon– a bit on the older side but at this point…..

