First round Draft Grade: A

I absolutely love the selection of Brandon Graham.  I know that everyone wanted Earl Thomas and he would have been a great player for us, but I think that Graham starts this year and makes our D line great.  We still have some young Safeties on the team who could still end up being good, in Macho Harris and Quintin Demps, but we don’t have many young DEs.  Tapp could have been a good starter for the Eagles and he can still compete to start, but I truly believe that Graham starts this year and contributes.  Look at my Defensive End Prospects post!

Now that Kyle Wilson and Devin McCourty are gone we might have to go with Chris Cook CB in the second.  I also like Alterraun Verner CB and Kevin Thomas CB who should be around in the third and we could trade up/down for. If we pull that off we then took care of the secondary situation and it makes not getting Thomas alright for all you people that wanted him.  We may have to trade up a bit to get the CB that we want but it will fill a big need.  We then need to address the offensive line and linebacker positions.  If we draft well at those two positions, we are in great shape next year.  We should be able to get  Rodger Saffold OT or Jared Veldheer OT in the second round to fill our O line need.  I have a feeling that the Rams are going to take Saffold with their first pick though, so we would have to trade up if we wanted him.  I would also consider drafting Navorro Bowman OLB in the second who is going to be a great linebacker in the NFL.  Thursday was a great start to the draft so far.  We have to keep it going and fill our O line, Linebacker and CB needs.

I also wanted to talk about Tyson Alualu.  I’ve been talking about how great he is going to be and how I thought that he was a first rounder.  See my Mock draft Eagles pick 24.    Alualu is really going to help out Jax.  Their defense is going to take a big step up.  He not only can get pressure on QBs himself, he can collapse the pocket and make it easier for DEs to get pressure.  They might have been able to get him later though, just because most people didn’t have him rated that high.  I really think that he was worth a first round pick.  Also check out my Defensive Tackle Prospects!

I can’t wait for day two.  We have a chance of making this a great draft.  We just need to make sure we fill our O line need and then draft defense the rest of the way.

Day Two Grade:
Day Three Grade:

